• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Cross platform management

A

Aaron Baxter

Hello all, I'm rather new to app development, used to web pages. I know with GS it is relatively easy to create one app that ports to both Android and iOS. What I'm having great difficulty with is how to manage access to content on both platforms easily.

I would prefer a central store where I, or someone FAR less technical, to be able manage the users. Also the application will contact this central point for "group" messages etc. I want some users to be able to post public messages and other things from the application while most others will only be able to read and send requests but must be approved by an admin. Closest thing I can think of that is similar is Facebook private groups with content approval. It will end up with FAR more than just FB's groups as there will be private sections, optional SMS messages when the "MOTD" for lack of a better term is updated, etc. I would prefer not to use FB or other social media sites if I can avoid it as the individuals this is targeting have aversions to such sites.

It's less of a game and more of a business style application, but I've selected GSS for the ease of porting since I REALLY don't want to learn how to code for iOS, and I got it dirt cheap :).

chamaeleon

Hello all, I'm rather new to app development, used to web pages. I know with GS it is relatively easy to create one app that ports to both Android and iOS. What I'm having great difficulty with is how to manage access to content on both platforms easily.