• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Creating physics objects in normal platformer

S

Simulacron

I want to create a platformer game with some physics objects like crates that you can push around.
My problem is to connect these things together. I'm a beginner to physics and not sure how to use them
I created a few physics objects in a room, that worked, but when I try to add my player to the level problems start.
My player uses the normal "non-physic" way to move and when I add it to the physics room it doen't move at all. However, when I enable physics I can use it normally, but then the physics objects doesn't work as expected.
Can I combine these to things together or do I need to create a player that moves with physics to get the game to work?

M

Misty

For some odd reason, when a room has physics it disables all the hspeed and speed variables in all non-physics objects. So you have to make a variable called hspeed2 and such.

S

Simulacron

For some odd reason, when a room has physics it disables all the hspeed and speed variables in all non-physics objects. So you have to make a variable called hspeed2 and such.
I tried this out, but all I get is an error message, because the game doesn't hspped to as a spped variable to set the speed in game.

Tornado

Maybe I'm missing something here, but why don't you make object player also physics-object and then use phy_speed, phy_speed_x and phy_speed_y on it? There are also phy_position_x and phy_position_x, but it is not recommented to set the position manually for physics objects.

Last edited:
S

Simulacron