• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Discussion Creating music for your game

fetito666

Hello!

What program do you use to create music for your game? So far I have zero experience in making music and probably I'll give that task to another person. However, I'd like to experiment.

What programs do you use?

I use Garageband. I wouldn't say it is the best option, but it is free for macs (in fact, it's installed by default). Unfortunately you can't use it on Windows. (Legally)

Garageband doesn't have the best quality music in the end, but if you're good, you can make it sound pretty awesome anyways. I've tried a lot of free music programs, and Garageband is the only one I really like. (Partially because it's what I used to learn though). If you just want to experiment it's probably a fine option, because I'm assuming you don't want to blow 100 dollars on a program you might not even use 2 months from now.

Garageband does have an upgrade that is a much higher level tool, but I haven't used it. That's nice though, because Garageband files are directly compatible with the paid tool, so when you're ready, you can instantly upgrade to a more powerful tool.

Do you have no music experience at all, or do you just not know how to compose? (Like, can you at least play an instrument?)

Last edited:

RizbIT

beatz maker evolution and mixcraft

well more the latter as its more professional but i started off with beatz maker as it was free and easier to use

G

GM029

I've been playing around with LMMS and FamiTracker, both free and pretty easy to use.

To be honest I have zero experience with instruments (although I survived several moshpits).