Creating Large Maps

S

Sergio Tamayo

I need to have a big map for my game. It's a MMO so would a large map creative massive lag? I'm unfamiliar with this. Any advice?

andev

Technically the "room size" means nothing. It's just a quick way of setting the size of the window without any code. Game maker rooms are infinite regardless of what their "size" is.

S

Sergio Tamayo

Technically the "room size" means nothing. It's just a quick way of setting the size of the window without any code. Game maker rooms are infinite regardless of what their "size" is.
Are you familar with Project Zomboid? I'm thinking about designing a game like that for Mobile. Would this possible for someone who has yet to learn about Game Maker? I am coming from RPG maker and I have some coding experience.

Genetix

You should be able to make the map (room) almost as big as you want - the real task is managing what object instances are 'active'. For each player (client) I would only process objects within a range of the view. It's worth looking into instance activation/de-activation and experimenting. Also research chunking systems!

Definitely possible to have massive rooms with no lag.

andev

Would this possible for someone who has yet to learn about Game Maker? I am coming from RPG maker and I have some coding experience.
If you have yet to learn about game maker, I'd recommend learning before trying to tackle a project you wish to put to market.

You can start on your big dream now, but what I can guarantee will end up happening is 50 hours in, you'll discover a method or technique that makes you look back on your entire project and think: "Man... I wish I'd done the whole project using this", and everything you'd put in would be a waste. It's best to get a really good feel of an engine before you go in. It's like learning to drive, you start in the front yard before you hit the freeway.

S

Sergio Tamayo