• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Creating a RPG with a class/job system

R

Ranger

Hello all,

I am new to the world of game design/development, as well as the Game Maker Community.

I've had an idea for a game that I've wanted to make for a long time now, and figured it was time to start pursuing that dream. I've been doing a lot of research on the available engines, tutorials, extensions, and other programs out there, but I just haven't been able to find a lot of info about how to create a job/class system for an RPG.

Is it possible, either through existing features, coding, or extensions, to create a class/job system (warrior, mage, ranger, etc.) for a turn based RPG game? How easy-difficult is it? Is that possible is Game Maker, or would another engine, like Unity, be more in line with what I'm looking for? What would you guys recommend?

Also, if it's possible to ask for any advice for someone getting started, I would greatly appreciate it. The world of coding and game design is new to me, but in doing my research, I was inspired by how nice and helpful this community is. If it helps, here are some specifics about my game idea:

-Turn based combat
-Class/Job system
-RPG with leveling and item management
-Romance options
-2D pixel graphics with hand drawn images for speech bubbles.

Again, thank you for any help or advice you are able to give!

W

Widget

Well, for a traditional JRPG I'm pretty sure the most appropriate engine of choice is RPG Maker. A lot of tools needed to make one are innate to the software.