• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Game Mechanics Creating a Dating Sim game with GameMaker?

S

sallychan

Hi all! I'm very new to programming, but prepared to put in the immense amount of time to learn a program--I'm just curious if GameMaker is the right program that I should be using?

The idea I have for my (final) game is similar to most social sim games but with a 'dating' aspect to it.

What I'm looking to do is have standard things like different 'store' to purchase (virtual) items from, daily quests to earn in-game currency, and a way to track how much an NPC likes you. There would also be a simple, 2D animated map with small sprites that walk around and have minor animations. Customization to your home and character throughout the game is another important aspect I'd need to include.

My best examples for apps like this are things like Tiny Farm, and Sims Freeplay.

I'm aware GameMaker is capable of making all sorts of games, but I don't know a lot about programming and I wonder if there is a program that's more suited to a 2D, click based sim game like this? Thanks in advance!

There are dating sim engines out there. However, if you want Tiny Farm and Sim's Freeplay I'd recommend GameMaker or some other grander engine than a simple dating sim engine.

Genetix

Definitely possible - My mobile game College Days was built with GMS and has over 300,000 downloads. If you run into any specific problems in designing let us know!

M

MagnumVulcanos

Definitely doable.