• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Visual Create multiple of same instance on start (DND)

S

sparky100

Hi,

I'm brand new to GMS2 and Im stuck on something that should be quite simple. I have created a ball object and I want to create lets say 20 of these balls at random positions accross the screen at game start. I tried using a 'for loop' then create instance for x amount of iterations but it doesnt work. Any ideas what Im doing wrong?

Many thanks.

Slyddar

There's a repeat code block, which you can use to do something a number of times. So you can use that with the instance_create code block to create multiple instances of the ball. For the x position you would use random_range(0, room_width) and random_range(0, room_height) for the y position. To make them spawn at the start, ensure you use it in a create event, or even a room_start/game_start event if that suits.

S

sparky100

There's a repeat code block, which you can use to do something a number of times. So you can use that with the instance_create code block to create multiple instances of the ball. For the x position you would use random_range(0, room_width) and random_range(0, room_height) for the y position. To make them spawn at the start, ensure you use it in a create event, or even a room_start/game_start event if that suits.
Hello, thanks for your help. Unfortunately it hasnt worked (see screenshot), keep getting the error below.

Screenshot 2020-07-06 at 22.32.46.png

Screenshot 2020-07-06 at 22.39.44.png

woods

its not drag and drop.. also GMS 1.4.9999
but maybe it can give ya some insight ;o)

controller create event
ball_count = 0

controller step event
if ball_count <= 20
{