Concerned About Visuals

Discussion in 'Game Design, Development And Publishing' started by Feather Dreams, Jan 23, 2019.

1. Feather Dreams

Feather Dreams Member

I'm looking to vent a bit about a brick wall I'm hitting with my game, and looking for potential advice:

I've been brainstorming and poking at this project for a while, and while it's my first game, it also feels like a labor of love, because I've been looking for a creative outlet for a while and it's been working out quite nicely.

Now, then, so far:
    • I've been playing games for a long time, and enjoy the occasional read about game design, so I feel I have that down pat.
    • I've been working as a programmer for three years and have graduated in software engineering, so GML is no big challenge for me.
    • My first few forays into sequencing some music are, if nothing else, at least encouraging and I feel like I'll have that part handled.
    The thorny issue comes to graphics.

I feel absolutely hopeless at producing anything resembling a decent sprite. I was never good at drawing, and I have no patience for it. I've been able to do some minor scenery decently, but anything larger and more complex feels like pulling teeth. I start something, get frustrated because I can't get it to look any good, even with tutorials, and toss it out.

I'm not looking to make anything that's particularly impressive graphically, I'd be happy with something that's quirky and distinctive while being very simple, but even 8-bit feels beyond me when it comes to putting together a nice-looking human.

I've pondered the idea of getting further along with placeholder graphics, but for some reason, I feel extremely bothered by the thought of doing that. I suppose it's because this is a project very close to my heart, and I would rather be the sole contributor to it, to make it truly mine and mine alone, but I'm not sure how healthy an idea that is...