• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Comment Convention: Addressing Teammates

P

ParodyKnaveBob

Howdy, all, $:^ ]

I've been using GM for awhile now, but this is my first post asking a question, and I hope it's in the right forum. Since my riveting post introduction totally demonstrates I'm an absolute expert, you can obviously tell my problem is way advanced. Addressing teammates from code comments -- is this even possible in GameMaker Studioes?!

(Lol. C'mon! For real, though, my first question for the Q&A/Programming forum, thus I gotta have some fun with it, right?) Okay, seriously, although I do have a pointed question mixed in here, perhaps this thread could serve as a hub for our comment conventions, too. Note: my (rather long) post assumes for clear, self-commenting code (despite my hackneyed written examples); if you're unfamiliar, go look up self-commenting or self-documenting code! Anyway, as for actually using comments, here's what I have so far... (I apologize in advance for any unclarity. I've been writing/editing this post for hours now...)

Throughout my years programming in various languages, I've gradually developed some commenting conventions, generally translatable to any language. In GML, it looks like so:

Code:
// some plain ol' comment for whatever reason

//! SERIOUS ISSUE: BROKEN, MUST BE FIXED, ETC.

//~ more optional issue: good place to add a new feature, or good candidate for optimization/refactorization

//NEW unfinished (or even placeholder) feature

//OLD obsolete, only keeping for reference until it's entirely replaced