Coding style.

So, I dont really have a problem, just a question. I'm kinda new to game maker, I just started like 4 months ago, but I feel like I have a bad coding style, or that I act way to much like a huge noob sometimes, I do realize I am new but is being considered good at gamemaker writing all this code in one script like, and I literally just took this out of one of yoyogames blogs

// @function Textfield(string:name, real:x, real:y, string:value)
function Textfield(_name, _x, _y, _value) : GUIElement() constructor {

// passed-in vars
name = _name;
x = _x;
y = _y;

/// @function set(string:str)
static set = function(str) {

// value hasn't changed; quit
if (value == str) return;

value = str;

show_debug_message("You set the Textfield named `" + string(name) + "` to the value `" + string(value) + "`");

}

/// @function click()
static click = function() {
set_focus();
keyboard_string = get();
}

/// @function listen()
static listen = function() {
set(keyboard_string);
if (keyboard_check_pressed(vk_enter)) remove_focus();
}

/// @function draw()
static draw = function() {

draw_set_alpha(has_focus() ? 1 : 0.5);

// bounding box
draw_rectangle(x, y, x + width, y + height, true);

// draw input text
draw_text(x + padding, y + (height * 0.5), get());

draw_set_alpha(1);

}
// set value
set(_value);
}

and now what all of this means?! is that the level I should be able to code at by now? I do realize that everybody learns at a slow pace, but I tried studying the manual and everything but I still only write with and if statements for the most part, and thats it. I know this is kinda an odd question, but if anyone could reassure me I would greatly appreciate it.

kpenrose92

As someone who is self-taught and only a few years into coding, this is what I constantly ask myself:

1. Can I make what I want to make?
2. Does it work?
3. Can I make more stuff without breaking what I've already made?