• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Windows Code not working the way its intended

jameswillis

Im new to game maker studio, and im trying to create a sliding menu for a project. I followed a tutorial on youtube to a T, and for some reason the slide bar doesnt work the way its supposed to. I did everything the guy in the video did, but for me, the slider goes only halfway down, and goes up beyond the slider bar. Can anyone tell me what im doing wrong?

Heres a link to the tutorial:

For obj_bar i used the following code:

LEFT PRESSED:
if (mouse_y < bottomLimit) && (mouse_y > topLimit)
{
a.y = mouse_y;
}

CREATE:
topLimit = y - (sprite_height/2) + (image_xscale*75);
bottomLimit = y + (sprite_height/2) - (image_xscale*75);

a = instance_create_layer(x, y, "Instances",obj_slider);
a.image_xscale = image_xscale;
a.image_yscale = image_yscale;
a.barLength = sprite_height;
a.topLimit = topLimit;
a.bottomLimit = bottomLimit;
a.y = topLimit;
a.depth = depth - 1;

For obj_slider i used the following code:

CREATE:
yy = 0;
grab = false;
percentage = 100;

LEFT PRESSED:
grab = true;

yy = y - mouse_y;

left released:
grab = false;

STEP:
if (!mouse_check_button(mb_left))
{
grab = false;
}

if (!grab)
{
exit;
}
else
{
if ((mouse_y + yy < bottomLimit) && (mouse_y + yy > topLimit))
{
y = mouse_y + yy;
}
else if (mouse_y + yy > bottomLimit)
{
y = bottomLimit;
}
else if (mouse_y + yy < topLimit)
{
y = topLimit;
}
}

percentage = round(((y-bottomLimit)/(topLimit-bottomLimit))*100);

Last edited:

chamaeleon