• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Clean up memory explanation.

A

Ahsen

Hello. I'm new to gamemaker and I've been reading a lot about it and I came up with some important stuff. I read about it but I'd like ask if somebody could explain to me about how gamemaker deals with it.

As far I understand, every object on destroy is already removed from memory right? And about data structures every single one of them have to be destroyd too if I'm not using, correct? But if I need a big ds for the entire time until the players leaves a level that could last for 1 hour? Since I'm doing a randomly generated map, all the map data have to be in my grid so that's why I'm concerned about it.
One last thing: accordingly to manual, the variable that holds the ds have to be set to -1 after I destroied my ds. Why? This means that I have to take care discarting it from memory for every single variable too?

Thanks!

edit: Also, apart from global, variables persist between rooms? if so how should I manage this?

Basically I'm confused about how should I manage memory in gms.

Last edited by a moderator:

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
As far I understand, every object on destroy is already removed from memory right?
Yes

And about data structures every single one of them have to be destroyd too if I'm not using, correct?
Yes (more or less... you can store a ds in a global variable for the whole game and never destroy it, but in general any resource created at runtime will need cleaned up when no longer required).

But if I need a big ds for the entire time until the players leaves a level that could last for 1 hour?