Changing Font mid-string

G

Gamenoobie

Greetings.
First of all, I am fairly new at Gamemaker and I am not quite accustomed to it yet.

I have looked over google, many websites, this forum and tutorials and I can't seem to find an answer to what I wish to accomplish with Gamemaker. First of all: My game will be text heavy, but it is not a text-adventure.

The closest thing I could find to what I want is this script here which changes the color of text mid-string.
However I tried many ways of tweaking it to make it change fonts, without any success.

What I'm looking for is to be able to write a script that makes text appear something like this, I'm just not too sure how to make it all work. And being text heavy, having to align everything would be a huge pain.

//
draw_set_font(normalfont)
draw_text_ext( x, y, "Text here is being draw normally, with the default or initial font for this particular line.
However here it would be in italic because it is a dialog
And because the dialog ends, it goes back to normal, sep, w);
//

Here would be a better description of what I want vs what I want to avoid. Gyazo image

Being a noob, I'm just looking to understand and learn so any kind of help would be hugely appreciated.
Thank you

obscene

It's a pain. Basically you need to track where are the italics are, break them into separate strings and then calculate using string_width where to place individual draw calls for each set of fonts/colors etc. Not fun!

G

Gamenoobie

Man... I just wish Gamemaker had a simple thing to change a font mid string like HTML with <b> blabla </b>.
I'm still looking into it but unable to make it work, other than aligning seperate strings with trial and error.

If anyone has ever been in this situation and found a solution, please be the greatest person in the world and share.
Cheers!