• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Caterpillar follow with running (Arrays)

K

knru

English isn't my first language and I'm new to GML, so I'm sorry if I say something weird. I'm trying to be as clear as I can.

So, I'm trying to make a party member to follow a path player lays out, but never gaining too much distance to the player. I used this reddit post as a reference and it works out fine, as long as I'm just walking or running.

The problem is, when I stop running, the party member walks back the path.

The player (obj_hero_rpg) Create
Code:
array_size = 30;
for(var i = array_size-1; i >= 0; i--){
    pos_x[i] = x;
    pos_y[i] = y;}
The player (obj_hero_rpg) Step
Code:
//Running
if canRun==1 {if (key_run) { if key_right or key_left or key_up or key_down {if spd < 5 spd+=0.5;}}
else{ if spd > 2 spd-=0.5; }}

//Party follow

if (x != pos_x[0]) || (y != pos_y[0]){
    for(var i = array_size-1; i > 0; i--){
        pos_x[i] = pos_x[i-1];
        pos_y[i] = pos_y[i-1];
        }
    pos_x[0] = x;
    pos_y[0] = y;
}
The Party Step
Code:
record= 30 / obj_hero_rpg.spd;
//So when running at full speed it equals to 6, and when walking it equals to 15

x = obj_hero_rpg.pos_x[record];
y = obj_hero_rpg.pos_y[record];
If I have understood correctly, the problem is that when I'm pressing the run button, it's following variables pos_x[6] and pos_y[6]. But when I release the run button, it returns to the variables pos_x[15] and pos_y[15], which makes it go back the path.