• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Can someone help me? Im new to Gms 2.

LamaMate

I got a problem, and i dont know how to fix it. I got this error code :
___ ############################################################################################ ERROR in action number 1 of Step Event1 for object oSGun: Unable to find any instance for object index '9' name 'oPlayer' at gml_Object_oSGun_Step_1 (line 2) - x = oPlayer.x; ############################################################################################ gml_Object_oSGun_Step_1 (line 2)

I have programmed a weapon. Then I programmed a boss and if you defeat him, you get a stronger weapon. If you collect it and then die with the weapon in your hand, the game hangs up. But the funny thing is, with the other one it works. (Of course with the help of a video)

I would be very happe if someone can help me.

chamaeleon

If you collect it and then die with the weapon in your hand, the game hangs up.
Without any code shown to help others understand what your code is doing, does "die" imply you destroy your instance of oPlayer, meaning that using oPlayer.x or any other variable becomes invalid because no instance of that object type exist in your game at that point?

LamaMate

this is the code, it is the same code for both, i just improved the values of the weapon.

//Gun Physiks
x = oPlayer.x;
y = oPlayer.y+10;

if (oPlayer.controller == 0)
{
image_angle = point_direction(x,y,mouse_x,mouse_y);
}
else
{
var controllerh = gamepad_axis_value(0,gp_axisrh);
var controllerv = gamepad_axis_value(0,gp_axisrv);
if (abs(controllerh) > 0.2) || (abs(controllerv) > 0.2)
{