GameMaker Camera not moving

DesArts

I'm new to GMS2 such so that I'll come across simple issues unfortunately.
My camera position is perpetually at (-1, -1) despite being set to the correct position (I know it's been set correctly). I'm obviously doing something very wrong somewhere.

Create event of persistent screen control object
Code:
global.Camera = camera_create_view(0, 0, Width, Height, 0, -4, 0, 0 ,0, 0);
view_set_camera(0, global.Camera);
Room start event of same persistent screen control object
Code:
view_enabled = 1;
view_visible[0] = 1;
view_set_camera(0, global.Camera);
End step of a camera control object
Code:
camera_set_view_pos(global.Camera, ViewX, ViewY);
ViewX and ViewY are 100% correct.

I'm sure it's possibly obvious to those more versed in GMS2 logic. Am I missing something or doing something incorrectly? Is there any known pitfall which can unintentionally move the camera? This is a project I'm migrating to the newer GM version.

I should mention I've checked for other code moving the camera and no, the line I've given is the only time the function is called.

Perhaps I'm doing it all wrong.

Bingdom

Googledom
I don't use gms2, but I think I may know the problem.

In gms1.4's room editor, there was a way for you to set the view to follow a object. Have you accidently did that to one of the views and made it follow the screen control object (which stays still, I'm assuming)?

DesArts

Yeah I do think the code I've shown is pretty much correct and no - sadly it's not that simple I've just checked and it's not trying to follow anything. The object is definitely in the room (if it wasn't there'd be an error).

That means there must be some other way that the view could be moved?

-

Okay so if I create a new camera every room that fixes things. I thought you could use one camera throughout different rooms? I was setting the view to the camera each time so I don't know what the issue was.

Last edited:

Bingdom

Googledom