Legacy GM Buttons & Doors Problem

B

Braeden Hammill

I'm making a game where there are doors that open when a specific button is being pressed and close when the button is not being touched.

I have made it so if the button is pressed it will open every door object, and my problem is I can't figure out how to give a specific button a relationship with a specific door, I've tried it once where in the step event it checks if the door and button both have a variable in common where I give them both a variable in the creation code and if I want button "A" to work with door "A" and button "B" to door "B" then the "A" buttons and "A" doors would have their variable equal "1" and the "B"'s would both equal "2". ( It didn't work )

Pls help (I have only been coding for a few months so I am not an expert)

Door Code: (without the variables that it and the button will have in common. All it says is "if button pressed, move door up, if not, move door down. pls tell me how to make a certain button activate a certain door.)

obj_door_move

_mspd = 1
_vspd = 0

if obj_button._state = obj_button._pressed
{
if y != ystart - 112
{
_vspd = _mspd
y -= _vspd
}
}
else
{
if y != ystart
{
_vspd = _mspd
y += _vspd
}
}

obj_button

_state = 0;
_pressed = 1 // if button is being touched/pressed
_notpressed = 2 //if the button was previously pressed but is now not being touched/pressed

if place_meeting(x,y,obj_player) || place_meeting(x,y,obj_box)
{
_state = _pressed
sprite_index = spr_button_press
}
else
{
_state = _notpressed
sprite_index = spr_button
}

TheouAegis

You'll need an instance creation code for the button. Store the id of the door in a variable in the button. Then use that varaible to target the specific door.

B

Braeden Hammill

how do you store an instances id in a variable?
and how would I check that in the doors step event?

TheouAegis

It wouldn't be in the door's step event. You'd have the button keep track of its state cuz everything depends on the button.