GM:S 1.4 Bullet Shooting Relative to Object - Simple but Not (GML)

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Benjamin Crump, Jul 15, 2016.

1. Hey all,

This is my first time posting on here. I've been through the asteroids tutorial and am now playing around with some different variations to help solidify the knowledge. I've taken the basic asteroids tutorial and I'm trying to make a modification to the firing of the bullet. The tutorial teaches you how to fire 1 bullet from the center of the player object (the ship), but I'm trying to make a modification to fire 2 bullets (1 from Y+10 and 1 from Y-10) simultaneously and in the correct direction (image angle of the player object). Code below:

bullet_direction = image_angle

bullet1 = instance_create(x,y+10,obj_bullet);
    bullet2 = instance_create(x,y-10,obj_bullet);

bullet1.direction = bullet_direction
    bullet2.direction = bullet_direction

bullet1.speed=10
    bullet2.speed=10

The player object successfully fires 2 bullets from the correct position when facing right (position 0) and facing left (180). When facing up or down, however, the bullets are no longer separated but are firing on top of each other (the gap between the bullets begins to close as soon as you begin turning the ship from 0 or 180. I've tried doing it through DnD and through anything I can find of GML (lots of using Google and the help file). Could anyone please help me understand why this code isn't forcing the bullets to fire with the degrees of separation in each and every direction as opposed to just left and right? Thanks in advance!

2. joakimFF

joakimFF Member

This should do what you want

//create event

xx = x;
    yy = y-10;

Len = point_distance(0, 0, xx, yy);
    Angle = point_direction(0, 0, xx, yy);

xx2 = x;
    yy2 = y+10;

Len2 = point_distance(0, 0, xx2, yy2);
    Angle2 = point_direction(0, 0, xx2, yy2);

//create bullet event