• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Biting off more than I can chew?

9intend0

I hope this is the right place to post this, but...

I have been developing the story and battle system of a game for about 2 years now. I have a solid vision for it but I have NO game making background, NO programming knowledge (although I am picking it up), and ABYSMAL art skills (mainly using GIMP and Inkscape)

I'm pushing through and making my game bit by bit, but I want to know if you think this is too ambitious of a project or is it something that over time I will be able to make?

What advice do you have for me?

D

dannyjenn

I have three suggestions. Probably at least one will work for you:

1.) Hire some contractors to make the graphics and do the programming for you. (That way you would basically be the ideas guy/project manager/art director, and you wouldn't need to get directly involved with the art or programming.) However, if you're on a tight budget it might be hard to find people who will be willing to do this for free. (But you never know... some people might be willing to do it just so they can add it to their resume/portfolio.)

2.) Another option is to keep doing what you've been doing. Work solo, and use this project as a learning experience in order to acquire new skills. That way by the time you finally do finish, you'll not only have a completed game (hopefully polished) but you will also have new skills. (Though, this might be a bad idea. If you start off too ambitious you're likely to get frustrated and end up giving up before the game is ever finished. Or you might end up in a situation where the project just keeps dragging on and on and never get finished.)