Design Best way to design a game

R

Richard Mountain

So i'm pretty new to the game developing scene and I have a question about designing games in respect to features and functionality, as I don't think just jumping straight into game maker and bolting features on as and when I think of them.

Now I know the first thing I should do is write down everything about the game, but I wanted to know if there was a better way of doing it, or software which can help organise the game design rather than just a bunch of text in a word document or spreadsheet.

Any help, suggestions or even own experiences would be a great help.

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
Xmind is a really good mindmapping tool I can recommend (it's free too!), but I mostly just write stuff in Google Docs... long documents/GDDs with tons of ideas get a lot easier to read in a traditional document than in a mindmap. Google Docs are also awesome for collab projects, since you not only can share them really easily, you can also edit the same document together in real time - it's awesome for brainstorming.

When you need to design something visually, such as levels or characters, I recommend pen and paper... it's a lot faster to doodle IRL than digitally, unless you have tablets and stuff you've also mastered using them. I also find IRL documents easier on the eyes than digital ones.

The M

Personally I write a few documents, depending on the game. Start with a general design document where you list key features and describe your game's concept, theme, gameplay and some content. The idea is not to write down everything but enough that you feel you know what game you're making. You can expand it later.

Then I'd make a list of tasks to do and select which to work on. I'd say it's best to start with the core gameplay and iterate until it feels good, then you delete everything (or rather, you put your test levels aside) and start making the actual game.