Best method of interface development?

luxo-JR

maquette-interface-500x500.png
Hello, I am new to developing with Game Maker, I am French. I am attaching an image of the prototype of the interface that I want to set up. There are 5 sensitive 'zones'. The first consists of a series of discs (which will contain an icon); the second now contains (it can evolve) 4 management buttons; the third contains a selection of one color among 6; the fourth contains two textual information; and the last one, number 5, displays the icon chosen in 1. So much for the description. My question is to find the best solution in Game Maker for such an interface. A set of independent sprites that I position to the nearest pixel. How to give a hover effect when I am over a button (action with the mouse). To be honest, I'm working on a Sokaban type game (old game) and the interface I'm showing you consists of a part of the level creator. Thank you for your answers. Best regards.Jean-François

NightFrost

Assuming this is the final layout and the interface will not reconfigure itself to alter positions of interface buttons, you can code much of the required coordinate information directly into the interface object (aka, hardcoding the values).

For circular interfaces (1) and (5) you know the center positions and the radius of each circle. This means you can use a point_distance() to measure mouse pointer's distance from each, and if result falls beneath radius of the circle you know you are hovering over that one.