• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Basic Vector Functions in 2.3 (proper way?)

samspade

I'm working on translating my current vector scripts from 2.2 to 2.3. The basics seem to be working, but I'm not very experienced with the new functions and methods. So if anyone with more experience has a moment to look this over and let me know if it looks right, and is the proper way to do it now, I'd appreciate it.

Everything below is located in a script file.

GML:
function vector(_x, _y) constructor {
    x = _x;
    y = _y;

static set = function(_x, _y) {
        x = 0;
        y = 0;
    }

static add = function(_other) {
        x += _other.x;
        y += _other.y;
    }

static subtract = function(_other) {
        x -= _other.x;
        y -= _other.y;
    }

static multiply = function(_scalar) {
        x *= _scalar;
        y *= _scalar;
    }

static normalize = function() {
        if ((x != 0) || (y != 0)) {
            var _factor = 1/sqrt((x * x) + (y *y));
            x = _factor * x;
            y = _factor * y; 
        }
    }

static set_magnitude = function(_scalar) {
        normalize();
        multiply(_scalar); 
    }

static limit = function(_limit) {
        if (point_distance(0, 0, x, y) > _limit) {
            set_magnitude(_limit);
        }
    }

}

Last edited:

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
It seems fine, though it could use a few more features. I'm thinking maybe some things that consider the use of the Vector as a position in space. Considering that, you could add some things like distance, etc... An alternative is to make a math library of sorts and just use these Vectors in it.

samspade