• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - IDE Autoindent in code editor

B

Barns

Newbie here so be gentle. I've just started coding up my first test game, in GM2, and was looking for a way to enable autoindent in the code editor. I googled, came across https://docs.yoyogames.com/source/dadiospice/001_advanced use/preferences/scripts preferences.html which seems to apply to older versions, is there an equivalent in or planned for GM2?

I'm definitely really missing the option from other editors, it's completely hardwired into me to be able to put a brace, enter, and the next line be indented automatically. It doesn't seem like a super tricky option, especially if it was in the previous versions?

If it's not there and gets added, I'd like an option for number of spaces to indent, too. It sucks having autoindent use whole tab sized spaces, haha. I like to indent using only a space or two.

M

menderleit

I second this suggestion. Auto-indent is missed. Also auto-closing-bracket would be super nice, so when you type an open curly bracket and press enter it will place a closing bracket and place the cursor in between (auto-indented).

Like this:
if (expression) {
____| <-- cursor
} <- This is placed automatically

_ = Spaces :)

S

Scoremonger