• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Array question

T

totatlly_new_at_this

So I'm pretty new at this, so bear with me. I've watched the YouTube tutorials and read the forums and stuff and they're all great. Right now I'm just learning how to do stuff before I get into building a real game (got to walk before you can run as they say).

My current project consists of an array of text that appears on the screen when the player click a button. My problem is I can't figure out how to make it display anymore then the first entry in the array.

For example my D1 array would consist of:

text1[0] = "blah"
text1[1] = "blahblah"
text1[2] = "blahblahblah"

displaytext = 0

So under the "object-events-left release" heading, what should the code be to make it move down the array one at a time and display the next text when the button is clicked?

Thanks everyone. Like I said I'm really new at this.

A

arirish

Create a new variable that holds the current line (newline=0). In your button clicking code do something like:

displaytext=text1[newline];
newline++;

G

Guy_Typing

A for loop is often used in this situation. You can use the for loop to cycle through the array and drawing each string one at a time. For example (no pun intended):
Code:
var array_length = array_length_1d(text);
for(var i = 0; i < array_length;i++){
     draw_text(x,y,text[i]);
}