• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Applying One Texture Across Multiple Faces?

B

Bowbowis

Hello, I've been using GM for several years now but this is my first time posting on the forum so forgive me if I make any mistakes here.

My problem is thus, I'm creating a game in which I have a number of textures, like this:
blocknormal.png

I need to resize one side of these textures so that it appears to be further than the other, like this:
blockskew.png
I've been able to recreate the effect by using textured line primitives for each column of pixels, but it chews up a ton of RAM and only works for resizing the left or right side. To combat this problem I've been trying to use a square made from a triangle strip like this:

Code:
draw_primitive_begin_texture (pr_trianglestrip, bgtex);

draw_vertex_texture_colour (px0 + 000, py0 + 160, uvs [0] / (texmapw * 1), uvs [3] / (texmaph * 1), -1, alpha);
draw_vertex_texture_colour (px0 + 000, py0 + 000, uvs [0] / (texmapw * 1), uvs [1] / (texmaph * 1), -1, alpha);
draw_vertex_texture_colour (px0 + 160, py0 + 160, uvs [2] / (texmapw * 1), uvs [3] / (texmaph * 1), -1, alpha);
draw_vertex_texture_colour (px0 + 160, py0 + 000, uvs [2] / (texmapw * 1), uvs [1] / (texmaph * 1), -1, alpha);

draw_primitive_end ();
blocknormal triangle.png
The problem comes when I try to shrink one of the sides. When I reduce the distance between points this is the result:
blockfailedskew.png