• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Any helpful tutorials for Dress Up Games for GMS2?

Ciez17

I thought I'd take up a quick project to help me break into GMS2 some more. If anyone's familiar with sites like AzaleasDolls or DollDivine, I'm looking for systems like that. Where you click on a certain item and it replaces whatever was on the doll before it, as well as a palette for recoloring different items. I figured it's a VERY easy project and it shouldn't be too hard to do.

Thanks in advance!

Easy always depends on your skill level. If you're a complete beginner, this will be a hard project to figure out. As for tutorials, I haven't seen any for this type of game. Perhaps when you figure it out, you should make one =)

As a few tips, when drawing your 'doll', you should probably have a single object draw the basic nude doll sprite (or non-nude if it's starts off with basic clothing) as well as drawing all the clothing. When you are drawing the clothing, as opposed to drawing the clothing sprites like this:
Code:
// Don't do this
draw_sprite(spr_plain_shirt,0,x,y-20);
draw_sprite(spr_fancy_pants,0,x,y);
// Etc
You would use a variable for each clothing section, so something like this:
Code:
// Do this instead
draw_sprite(global.shirt,0,x,y);
draw_sprite(global.pants,0,x,y);
// Etc
At the start of the game, you would assign those variables to default values:
Code:
global.shirt = spr_plain_shirt;
global.pants = spr_fancy_pants;
Then when you click on an item, you would reassign the variable associated with that clothing section:
Code:
// When you click on the Long Trousers clothing piece
global.pants = spr_long_trousers;