• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Anti aliasing

I

Insanebrio

Hi everyone. In the last times i started learning how to make smooth graphics and animations with spine. However, I noticed that GMS does not have a default anti aliasing (AA). The interpolation within pixels is not an AA but part of the anti aliasing, and alone creates bad effects expecially on small immages and when you move the view or some objects you see some pixelation. The only aa shader (the free ffxa) is only sightly better than the interpolation. Theres any other aa shader (even not free) for game maker? Is the yoyogames team going to add a base anti aliasing on the engine? Atm i started to thing that you can only make pixel art games with game maker and thats quite bad onestly.

jazzzar

Hi everyone. In the last times i started learning how to make smooth graphics and animations with spine. However, I noticed that GMS does not have a default anti aliasing (AA). The interpolation within pixels is not an AA but part of the anti aliasing, and alone creates bad effects expecially on small immages and when you move the view or some objects you see some pixelation. The only aa shader (the free ffxa) is only sightly better than the interpolation. Theres any other aa shader (even not free) for game maker? Is the yoyogames team going to add a base anti aliasing on the engine? Atm i started to thing that you can only make pixel art games with game maker and thats quite bad onestly.
i don't know about AA if it's gonna be made a thing into game maker but i believe there is lots of games that are not pixel art which were made with game maker

jazzzar

display_reset(aa, vsync);
GM supports 0, 2, 4, and 8x AA. Some platforms don't support more than 2x though.