AI Taking cover

Rivo

Ok, so i've spent the last few days working on my ai system using different states to tell the enemy what to do, and I am reasonable happy with it so far. Especially considering that i'm completely new to it.

What i'm not so happy about is how the enemy will get way too close and risk it's life to try and kill me D:
So what I'm trying to do make the enemy take cover whenever a solid is near. Here is the code I tried

Code:
//when cover is in range, and player is in sight go to cover.
if collision_line(x, y, oPlayer.x, oPlayer.y, oSolid, false, false){
    if distance_to_object(oSolid) <= 20{
        if distance_to_object(oPlayer) >= radius - 100{
        path_end();
            if mp_grid_path(pathfinder_grid, path, x, y, oSolid.x, oSolid.y, true){
                path_start(path, spd, path_action_stop, false);
            }
        }
    }
}
but I have a feeling that this may be a bit more complex than I know (bear in mind this code was purely just trial and error)

Any help at all would be great, thank you!

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
I'd use different states for this to make it easier to manage... if you don't keep things like this separated, the code will be a nightmare to adapt. Enemies would use different AI for tracking you down, attacking you, and running into cover... and probably for attacking you from inside cover as well. Using a state machine approach would let you write several easier AIs and only use one at a time.

Phil Strahl

I'd use different states for this to make it easier to manage... if you don't keep things like this separated, the code will be a nightmare to adapt. Enemies would use different AI for tracking you down, attacking you, and running into cover... and probably for attacking you from inside cover as well. Using a state machine approach would let you write several easier AIs and only use one at a time.