• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Advice for a First Time Developer

J

jt_guevara

Hello everyone! I'm new to game development and I have some questions!

First, what paths can I consider as a first-time developer? Going independent or applying to work for a large studio? Currently, I'm a solo developer working on a simple 8-bit action and puzzle game. I've done some research in the last couple of days and I've read all sorts of indie stories, from solo developers to small teams, failures and successes. I find that there's no consensus on this, everyone has different opinions. I wanted to ask directly for myself.

Second, say I choose going independent. Is it wise to release your first game for free to build an audience or sell it right off the bat? Again, I find that there's different opinions on this.

Third, marketing. How to go about it? I'm not sure where to start.

I'm new to this entire process and attempting to figure it out before I dive in. Any help or advice is appreciated!

RangerX

One thing I guess you need to put there. You primarily there for a living or for fun? Because that's the basis of all your futur decisions. If you're in the money/living, your game design will be more "marketable" than "what you dream of" maybe.
You will also make multiple smaller games before risking a big game generally speaking. And you would sell any games you make, be confident your work is worth something, market and price it right and you might end up making money. A free that wouldn't build you a following is 100% lost time and pulling away your dream of living off this job.

J

jt_guevara