• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

add motion away from an enemy

W

wizwaz

Hello,

I'm quite new to GML and what I'd like to be able to do is if one of my enemies is say less than 70 pixels away from another enemy, then add some sort of motion to move away from that enemy so to try and avoid moving into it as both enemies are moving towards the player.

This is the code that moves the enemies:

Code:
motion_add(point_direction(x,y,object_player.x,object_player.y),0.1);
Any advice is much appreciated.

samspade

Hello,

I'm quite new to GML and what I'd like to be able to do is if one of my enemies is say less than 70 pixels away from another enemy, then add some sort of motion to move away from that enemy so to try and avoid moving into it as both enemies are moving towards the player.

This is the code that moves the enemies:

Code:
Any advice is much appreciated.
Something like this might work:

Code:
with (obj_enemy) {
    var this_enemy = id;
    if (this_enemy == other.id) {
        continue;
    }
    var dist = point_distance(x, y, other.x, other.y);
    if (dist < some number) {
        with (other) {
            motion_add(point_direction(this_enemy.x, this_enemy.y, x, y),0.1);
        }
    }
}