SOLVED Add "3D" Perspective/Depth to 2D Platformer

J

JacobSyndeo

Hey,

I'm making a sidescrolling 2D platformer similar to what you would find on a Game Boy Color or GBA. I'm pretty new to GameMaker and game development in general, but I have about a decade of experience with mobile app development and general software engineering.

Progress has been going quite well, with gameplay and "physics" running how I want. However, I'm now wondering if I could my game look a bit more modern than what I was basing it on. I'd like to go about altering the way the game is presented, how it's drawn to screen essentially, while keeping the underlying physics/collision logic constrained to two dimensions.

A much-more detailed (and way out-of-scope for GameMaker) example of what I'm after is what Shantae: 1/2 Genie Hero did:
19aad970946e3cd32ce6468932b053c3.jpg
2D characters in "3D" environments, but unlike Paper Mario, the characters are constrained to X/Y movement.

A much closer example of what I'm after (and one I think GameMaker may be able to do) is demonstrated in the 3dSen NES emulator, which basically takes 2D square sprites and renders them onto 3D cube blocks, giving the game environments a sense of depth:
mm1.jpg
mm2.jpg
(Ignore the more advanced voxel stuff on the characters and other sprites; that's out of scope here—my main focus is the blocks that make up the stage. I want my characters and such to remain 2D sprites, for the time being at least.)

Now, I found a few tutorials on how to do this sort of thing in GameMaker, but they all depend on D3D functions (e.g. `d3d_draw_block`, none of which are present in current versions of GMS. ☹

Is there a good way to go about this in GMS2? I imagine it'd be code inside of my block object's draw event, but any help on this front would be hugely appreciated.