GameMaker "Accept Spine License"

So is it necessary to check the box for spine use for any reason other than actually using that tool? I have no idea. I don't use Spine, but was concerned that somehow something is running in the software that is part of it which would mean I would have to "accept" even though I didn't buy the software? Could someone clear this up for me?

Let me also apologize in advance if the answer to this question is somehow obvious, as I'm not a programmer, and I'm just trying to cover all of my bases. :)

thx

Last edited:

rIKmAN

So is it necessary to check the box for spine use for any reason other than actually using that tool? I have no idea. I don't use Spine, but was concerned that somehow something is running in the software that is part of it which would mean I would have to "accept" even though I didn't buy the software? Could someone clear this up for me?

Let me also apologize in advance if the answer to this question is somehow obvious, as I'm not a programmer, and I'm just trying to cover all of my bases. :)

thx
That only pops up if you are using .json sprites in your project, and if so then yes you have to accept the licence agreement as GMS2 uses the Spine runtimes which require that you own a Spine licence to legally use them.

This applies even if you aren't using Spine itself to create your skeleton as the Spine licence is required to allow you to use the runtimes integrated into GMS2 - the tool you use to create the json files is irrelevent.

See this post for more information from Esoteric Software, the makers of Spine.

That only pops up if you are using .json sprites in your project, and if so then yes you have to accept the licence agreement as GMS2 uses the Spine runtimes which require that you own a Spine licence to legally use them.