Team Request A work in progress

V

VinnNo

This is my first post on here, so I'm not too sure what the expectations are so here goes!

I do not have a lot of experience in game design but I do have a history of coding. I started a project with rpg maker and quickly learned that was NOT what I wanted to work with. I switched to unity but I have no interest in 3D games and it was proving difficult for me to work a 3D engine to do a 2D game, even though I've seen some great 2D games from unity. After that I found myself with GameMaker. While it was a transition, I've had an incredibly easy time adjusting. I've been tinkering with it for almost two years now and workflow has been amazing, given the little time I have for it.

The game I'm making is intended to be a platforming "metroidvania". By that I mean, I love the level obstacles of mario and the action-packedness of megaman and have tried to capture that. The mechanics are getting pretty close to what I want, though it is still very buggy and could use some "smoothing out". I have a bad habit of getting something working and moving onto the next thing before it's perfect. Tweaks drive me crazy and I'm not the best at it. I am also not the best animator/artist either but I love doing it!

Here is the last level I was working on last, so you can get an idea of how it looks/feels.
NOTE:The enemies are relics from the start of the project and they are based on pixel sprites by DogChicken. But they are placeholders for those enemy-types. Also, this is the first video I've ever put on youtube. The game runs at 60fps but the video looks like 30 @.@
Video:

I guess what I'm looking for is a coder that has some free time on their hands to clean up my mess :p