• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

A recipe for motion blur?

Hey folks,

Does anyone have any pointers (or the actual code!) for applying motion blur to a layer?

I have some parallax background layers that are just being moved with the horizontal speed setting in the background layer itself and it would really benefit from some motion blur.

I assume this is achieved with a shader? I googled and found some but I have no idea how they are applied to a specific layer.

rIKmAN

Hey folks,

Does anyone have any pointers (or the actual code!) for applying motion blur to a layer?

I have some parallax background layers that are just being moved with the horizontal speed setting in the background layer itself and it would really benefit from some motion blur.

I assume this is achieved with a shader? I googled and found some but I have no idea how they are applied to a specific layer.
You can use layer_script_begin() and layer_script_end() to run a shader for a specific layer/layers.

There are extended code examples on the manual pages I linked above which do exactly the process you are after.
Just amend the code to use your own layers/shader/uniforms etc as required.

You can use layer_script_begin() and layer_script_end() to run a shader for a specific layer/layers.

There are extended code examples on the manual pages I linked above which do exactly the process you are after.
Just amend the code to use your own layers/shader/uniforms etc as required.
Thanks. I found a motion blur shader on this page: https://github.com/GameMakerDiscord/blur-shaders

Code:
varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;
uniform vec2 pos;//x,y
const int Quality = 16;

void main()
{