GameMaker A question about programming an object.

A

Aron Lehrmann

Hey guys.
I need your help. I am still new in programming things. I use the gamemaker Studio 2. In my game there are the following objects: a ball and different platforms. The ball is allowed to roll only on the platforms. If the ball falls off the platform the ball should be destroyed. How can I program into the object "ball" that it will be destroyed as soon as it no longer touches an object?

X

Xinera

To do this you can use the place_meeting function.

There are a lot of different ways to approach this problem depending on if you want the ball to destroyed as soon as it's no longer touching the platforms or if you want it to get destroyed when it falls off the platform.

For the first alternative you can use this in the step event of the ball:
if (!place_meeting(x,y+1,<name of the platform object>))
{
instance_destroy();
}
When the platform is not 1 pixel under the ball then the ball will be destroyed.

For the second alternative you can make the ball get destroyed as soon as it leaves the room in the step event of the ball.
if y >= room_height + sprite_height/2
{
instance_destroy();
}
So as soon as the balls y coordinate is equal to the rooms height + the height of the objects sprite/2 since the origin point is in the middle of the ball it will get destroyed.

This is how i would have approached the problem but i'm sure there are a lot of other ways to approach this. I'm also pretty new to gamemaker so hopefully this should work :D

A

Aron Lehrmann

[QUOTE = "Xinera, Beitrag: 349229, Mitglied: 36753"] Dazu können Sie die Funktion place_meeting verwenden.

Es gibt viele verschiedene Möglichkeiten, dieses Problem anzugehen, je nachdem, ob der Ball zerstört werden soll, sobald er die Plattformen nicht mehr berührt, oder ob er zerstört werden soll, wenn er von der Plattform fällt.

Für die erste Alternative können Sie dies im Schrittereignis des Balls verwenden: