• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

A point & click adventure game, how to start?

H

Howl1ngW0lf

Hi Everybody. I'm new to GMS2 and this forum and in search of useful guides or tutorials. I can find a lot of information on how to create platformers, but I want to create a point and click adventure game, but don't know how to start. I was wondering if I missed a tutorial on that subject or if you guys could point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!

R

Rukiri

Step 1: Target Windows 3.11 and Windows 95
Step 2: Pick a theme
Step 3: Profit?

In all actual seriousness, since it's a point and click adventure most if not everything can be used by the mouse event then things like dialogue and items can be created like normal. Items I'd use a ds_list and map.

Also since it's a point and click game, 640x480 or 800x600 is a must ;)

I advise starting small, like create an object the responds to your mouse clicks. Maybe make the object bring up a text box or change colors when clicked on or something. It won't be much but hey it's a good starting point.

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
@Rukiri has a point about the mouse events, you get pointing and clicking pretty much 'for free' using the Mouse Left Pressed event. What you could be interested in checking out once you're more comfortable with that:
  • Inventory system
  • System that lets you select an item for interaction, and interactible objects might potentially have different responses when certain items are used on them
  • Permanence of changes on a screen (e.g. once you pick up the pavement stone from the hole in the road, it's gone permanently)
  • Changing the cursor based on what you're hovering over