Development A Few Questions.

T

T. Edwards

Hello all,

I am a student at Glendale Community College. I am currently taking a certificate course for Game Technology and then moving onto Game Development I & II.

So here are my questions:

1. I know many people say a degree is not needed for game development as long as you can show you know what you are doing. Should I just complete the certificate course and then go on my way or continue on with Game Development I & II? I have already paid for the certificate course and purchased the required books so I will be finishing it. (Just as a note all 3 utilize GMS)

2. Is GameMaker: Studio worth it? Since GCC utilizes it for all of its game courses I figure it is, but would I be better off dropping the courses and focusing on Unity or C++?

3. For my courses I was required to pay for GMS along with the Android export. What other exports would you suggest? I don't have a MAC or iPhone so as of now I think the iOS export is not needed, but I am leaning towards the HTML5 export.

If you could help out with these questions I would appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

A

Aura

You're not bound to get a certificate in order to be able to program and earn a living. But that depends on whether you'd freelance or work as an employee in a company. Some clients won't want you to program in GM:S, some of them won't mind what you use; so it really depends on who you plan to work for.

Learning multiple languages does no harm to your career as a programmer; using GML doesn't limit your abilities, using only GML might. You may learn other languages, but that's not mandatory; you'd still get a clientele if you use only GML.

HTML5 target has great potential and audience to earn you a living. But you can target multiple platforms as you see fit.

G

Guest User

A.S. please note that this is all just my opinion, based on my experience.