• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

100 programming challenges

S

Shusaku

Hi everyone, this is my first post so first I want to say excited to be joining this community! I just purchased gamemaker and love the interface and structure it provides for creating games. I'm a professional new media artist (working in c++/openframeworks, python, Max/MSP/Jitter), so seeing interactive software made in this way has been quite exciting.

Yet since I started a couple weeks ago I've been trouble finding the right place to start. I've done a few online tutorials, but as someone who has over a decade of experience in writing software, I know that this format of learning is quite slow moving for me. The syntax is familiar and simple, so that hasn't been an issue. But I'm used to learning programming frameworks through the introduction of objects and functions, and then proceeding with a series of challenges. This usually allows me to get a sizeable overview of what is possible, and I can begin experimenting/creating/jamming from there.

Which brings me to my question: has anyone checked out Ben Tyre's GMS 100 Programming Challenges? It seems like just what I'm looking for: a bunch of challenges to solve, that tell you ahead of time what functions you will need to solve them.

Yet I also know that computer science literature can often be a junk mill, with volumes produced by authors who aren't authorities on the subject, by publishers who are only interesting in profit (this one is made by a branch of Springer, which has me very skeptical from the get-go).

Is anyone familiar with any other resources that might have a similar method to teaching GMS?

Thanks for the help!

FrostyCat