Job Offer - Programmer Quote Required for MMO Online Database

RyanC

Hi everyone, I have a game that I would like to include multiplayer in the sense that users can store their variables online and conquer and steal bases from one another etc.

From my understanding I need to link my GMS application to an online MySQL data base via a PHP script.
However I'm open to other suggestions.
I can provide the domain name and web hosting via Linux servers with static IP address.
The reason I'm not to confident doing this myself is that I've never used PHP before or MySQL data bases and most of all I'm concerned about security breaches if not set up by someone with the relevant experience.

So if you know how to use things like random session cookies and all the other necessary code to set up a secure system like this then I'm happy to talk more about this project.

I'll need to have a system that allows users to create and access their username account that will store all their game variables such as text documents that I can export their creations to. So this would mean storing instances and x y positions for them. They'l need to be able to search for other usernames and attack their bases but this will only mean downloading the defending user's base data, as they will not be playing against one another in real-time unless I can see how to implement that feature into an already completed project.

I'm just looking for a quote at this point to see if this is something I can afford?

R

roytheshort

It's not so much if you can afford it, I'd say if it's worth it. Ideally with MMOs you would want a subscription fee from players to keep the server running, so you could just split the cost out. But, if few people play it, it's just a constant stream of costs to you and not many people are online at one time.