• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM [Solved] How to find multiple object instances?

M

M3gal0maniac

Hi all, I'm fairly new to this.

I am wondering if there is a way or a function to search for multiple object's instances and check if they exist.

For example (wrong code but shown as an example of what I want) :
Instance_exists(obj_1,obj_2)

I understand I can use multiple if statements to check each instance_exist but is there a more elegant way in doing this? Thanks!!

NightFrost

Not on command level, no. But you could throw the object references into an array or ds list, and iterate through it in a loop. If the checklist of objects does not change you need to set the array up only once.

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
You could use parenting if all the objects you want to search for have something in common, e.g. all of them are terrain, collectible items, or enemies, which also has other benefits like being able to not repeat code in multiple places. Or you could use an array and a loop like this:

Code:
lookfor[0] = obj_1
lookfor[1] = obj_2
lookfor_num = 2//The array has two things in it right now, #0 and #1
found = false
for(c = 0;c < lookfor_num;c++){
  if(instance_exists(lookfor[c])){
    found = true
    break//leave the loop early to speed up, since we just want to find either object and we just did
  }
}
if(found){
  //Do something here
}

jo-thijs

Hi ad welcome to the GMC!

So, you want to check if any instance of type obj_1 or type obj_2 exist?
Then just use:
Code:
(instance_exists(obj_1) || instance_exists(obj_2))
And if you want to know if instances exist for both obj_1 and obj_2, you just replace || by &&.

M

M3gal0maniac