is philosophy useful

• Thread starter gibberingmouther
  • Start date
G

gibberingmouther

this is a topic close to my heart because i majored in philosophy my first year of college (sort of - i went to a weird college) and i hated it.

i don't think philosophy is useless - for learning how to be analytical and learning some history i think it's worth taking like one or two philosophy courses. Plato's dialogues have some value and are worth studying - at least just to get exposed to how he reasons. and the ancients basically relied on philosophy for their education and their way of intellectually processing the world around them.

i hated philosophy so much for awhile (i only majored in it in the first place because of my sister, who is gifted with a high iq but is also stupid). when i discovered Richard Feinman and his opinions on philosophy i was like "finally, someone who gets me!". my iq and Feinman's are like within 1 point of each other but he was 10 times smarter than me, so i think iq and general intelligence are not the best measures. anyhoo, what do you guys think about philosophy?

edit: the title of my thread is not great. i'm not asking so much if philosophy is useful or practical as whether there is any point in studying it.

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin