• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Help with angled player kickback mechanic.

J

JuiceBox

Hi everyone,

I'd like to start by saying I'm a complete novice to programming. I've been following a video by Shaun Spalding on kick back. I thought it would be a cool idea to make a game around this mechanic, but I've came a across a problem. When shooting at an angle and the player is propelled the opposite way, the player doesn't move quite the way I thought it would.

Here's a link to Shaun's video. He demonstrates this around the 6 minutes mark:

An example of this mechanic that I'm trying to achieve is Ashe's Coach gun ability from Overwatch but in a 2D environment.

Here's a link to her abilities if you've never played it: https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/ashe/

Would really appreciate any help given.

Nidoking

There's no help to give without information. What is happening that you don't want to happen? What is the code you're using to make that happen?

J

JuiceBox

Hi Nidoking,

Thanks for the reply.

Here's a small video of the issue.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=19Dd268M2oVbk62TSBgIG8-A4O7AGnk_M

When the player shoots diagonally the propelled character seems to move horizontally then immediately up. I was hoping it would arc through the air, opposite to the direction of where the player shot.

This is the code im currenly using;

with (O_Dragonbody)
{
flamekickx = lengthdir_x(60, other.image_angle-180);
flamekicky = lengthdir_y(20, other.image_angle-180);
}

Hopefully, I explained this a little better.

Nidoking