• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Issue with Bullet Origin

D

Daniel Hall

Hi,

Im new to gamemaker, and followed the tutorial for making an asteroids clone in GML (From yoygames youtube channel).

Thats all fine, but I am now trying to edit it so that instead of a single bullet from the center of the spaceship, i want two bullets, one from each side (i created a sprite with two little guns). Ive tried figuring it out, and searching for solutions (I tried to just offset the 1 gun to start with). The below code does offset it, but the offset switches sides when rotating the ship.

The code I have for the bullet spawn (as a step event on the ship obj) is:

var _yy = y + lengthdir_y(20, image_angle);
var _xx = x - lengthdir_x(8, image_angle);
bullet1 = instance_create_layer(_xx, _yy, "Instances", obj_bullet)
bullet1.direction = image_angle;

Can anyone advise?

The example from the GML reference pages made it sound like it would work "This will create a bullet instance at (_xx, _yy), which will be 64 pixels from the parent instance in the direction of the image angle."

Im sure im just missing something stupid, enjoying my time with it though

CloseRange

lengthdir_x and lengthdir_y when used together should generally use the exact same peramaters.
By that I mean not 20 in one and 8 in the other. And also don't add on one side and subtract on the other.

This code will do as you want when done correctly. Choose a direction and choose a distance from that direction.
in your case image_angle will make it move forward from the ship, so you want image_angle+90 to make it move right of the ship.
20 will make it 20 pixels to the right:
Code: