Event after certain amount of killed enemies

P

PopatoChisp

Hello,
I'm pretty new to Game Maker, and programming in generall, and I wanted to ask if its possible to make an event happen after a certain number of enemies was killed (in an Rpg game for example)
For example when you kill 10 enemies, a door opens, or another person joins your party but if you don't kill the 10 enemies, this event doesn't happen.

I saw some things about flags (i think that's what they are called), that get activated if the player does a certain thing, and when a certain number of flags is activated an event occurs, but I'm not sure.

(Also, first post on this forum, so hello to everybody :) )

A

Aura

Yes, you can use flags. For instance, if you want to open the door when 10 enemies have been killed, you'll do something like this:

Create:
Code:
event_done = false;
door_open = false;
Step:
Code:
if (global.killed_enemies >= 10) {
   if (!event_done) {
      door_open = true;
      event_done = true;
   }
}
...where event_done has been used (although completely unneccesary in this case) to show how flags can be used to make sure that an event/action is performed only once.

Another suggestion: Use the concerned object (door object in this case) to handle events or actions related to the same instead of using a single object for everything. It would makes things easier to handle.

P

PopatoChisp

Yes, you can use flags. For instance, if you want to open the door when 10 enemies have been killed, you'll do something like this:

Create:
Code:
event_done = false;
door_open = false;
Step:
Code:
if (global.killed_enemies >= 10) {
   if (!event_done) {
      door_open = true;
      event_done = true;
   }
}
...where event_done has been used (although completely unneccesary in this case) to show how flags can be used to make sure that an event/action is performed only once.