GML [Textbox System] Help changing text color mid string / shake effects?

GonerBits

(I'm a total beginner to this, and this is my first time posting to here, so sorry if the formatting / code is kind of messy... I don't know what i'm doing haha)

I'm trying to make a text box system that allows for shaking text and changing text colors (preferably in a gradient) kind of like how you see in some RPGs.

I've been trying to study the ways a lot of people do this kind of effect and here's what I've come up with so far...

Code:
//CREATE EVENT
//Text pages
text[0] = "This is page 0!"
text[1] = "Annd this is page 1..."
page = 0
page_total = array_length_1d(text)
//Speed of drawing each character
charspd = 12
char = 1
alarm[0] = charspd
//Where to draw text
text_xstart = 40
text_ystart = 40
text_x = text_xstart
text_y = text_ystart
//Gradient colors
color1 = c_white
color2 = c_white
//Used for shaking
intensity = 0;
Code:
//DRAW GUI EVENT
draw_set_font(font)
//Set up shaking
shake_x = random_range(-intensity,intensity)
shake_y = random_range(-intensity,intensity)
//Get one letter
currletter = string_char_at(text[page],char)
nextletter = string_char_at(text[page],char+1)
char_width = string_width(currletter)
//Draw one letter
draw_text_color(text_x+shake_x,text_y+shake_y,currletter,color1,color1,color2,color2,1)
Code:
//ALARM 0
if char < string_length(text[page]) {

//Play sound
    if currletter != " " {
        audio_play_sound(snd_text,5,false)
    }

//Change color when the tag comes up
    if nextletter = "&" {
        text[page] = string_delete(text[page],char,1)

//(Example of changing text properties... making it blue and shaky, changing the speed)
        color2 = c_blue
        intensity = 1
        charspd = 20

}

//Go to next letter / position
    char ++
    text_x += char_width

alarm[0] = charspd
}
Code:
//Key press - Z
//Go to next page
if page < page_total {
    page += 1
    char = 1;
    text_x = text_xstart
    alarm[0] = charspd
}