• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker How can I create a sprite after destroying an object?

O

Oxiriark

I am new to GML.
I would like to know if I can create a sprite animation from destroying an object.
Right now I have a collision check on the player object with this code
Code:
// check coin collect
var _instance = instance_place(x, y, instance_nearest(x, y, obj_coin));
if (_instance != noone)
{
    instance_destroy(_instance, false);
    audio_play_sound(snd_coinGrab, 0, false);
}
I have an effect in the form of a sprite right now, it is 11 frames long and I want it to create it when the coin is destroyed.
What is the most effective way to do this?

G

Guest User

The fastest method to do this is to make a new variable in the draw event, for example:
Code:
collected=0;
The 'collected' variable will be used to see if the coin has been picked up already. Instead of having the instance immediately destroyed, place this code in the place of instance_destroy:
Code:
if (_instance != noone)
{
   collected=1;
   mask_index=-1;
   sprite_index=spr_coin_pickup_animation;
   image_speed=0.4;
   audio_play_sound(snd_coinGrab, 0, false);
}
And in a new event, the 'Animation End' event, just simply add this:
Code:
if(collected)
{
   instance_destroy();
}

Last edited by a moderator:

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
I don't think having the object control a destruction effect is the best approach, you will need to duplicate code for EVERY object you destroy this way.