• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker How to destroy one instance of an object.

O

Oxiriark

I am very new to Game Maker Studio, and I've learned a ton over the past week from tutorials.
So, I am creating a simple Mario platformer game. I added coins and basically this is my code for them currently.
Code:
if (place_meeting(x, y, obj_player))
{
    instance_destroy(obj_coin, false);
    audio_play_sound(snd_coinGrab, 0, false);
}
this of course destroys any instance of the object, so if I touch one then all will disappear.
could I get some help with this?

Binsk

The function place_meeting checks if two instances's bounding boxes intersect and returns true or false. The function instance_place does the exact same check but returns the id of the first instance that is intersected. instance_place_list does the same check as well but returns a number of instances in that location.

Assuming you don't have coins that overlap you can use instance_place as follows:
Code:
var _instance = instance_place(x, y, obj_player); // Do the check, store result in temporary variable
if (_instance != noone) // If the check didn't return "no one" we have an ID stored
{
    instance_destroy(_instance, false); // Destroy just the ID of our checked instance
    audio_play_sound(snd_coinGrab, 0, false);
}
You can read more about this function (and related functions) here and here.

Edit: Linked the wrong manual entry. Fixed.

Last edited:
O

Oxiriark

I attempted to implement this code, and the result seems to delete the player object instead of the coin object.

Binsk