Shaders [SOLVED] Apply Shaders effects to particles

S

spaceman_games

Hey Gang,

Not sure if this is a loaded question or not because I'm still learning shaders.

However is it possible to apply a shader effect to a particle? I read that it could be done through surfaces?

Thanks

Relic

S

spaceman_games

Sweet, I got it working, had to read the manual pretty hard to understand the logic order.

However one issue is that my particles are being drawn onto the surface over a black box, is there a way to have transparency within the surface so it just shows my particles. otherwise this system may not work for me.

Here are the before and After Shots
https://imgur.com/gallery/nq8kHkd

Last edited by a moderator:
Do you mean you are first clearing the surface with the color black? Or that drawing the particles using the shader is adding the color black to the surface?

S

spaceman_games

Here are my events. I'm clearing the surface in the draw begin event. It creates the surface in a black box, I just want the particles. The shader works, however, also making my particles look odd in the box, like my last reply. https://imgur.com/gallery/nq8kHkd the image is a screengrab from the top of my game. other assets are below it.

Create Event
Code:
/// @description Create Event

scr_aberration_create();

global.particle_surface = false;
Draw End event

Code:
/// @description Draw End event

draw_surface(application_surface,x,y,);

#region // Aberration
    if (shader = 1) {
      shader_set(sh_aberration_wild);
      shader_set_uniform_f(shakex, global.shake_x);
      shader_set_uniform_f(shakey, global.shake_y);
    }

if (!surface_exists(global.particle_surface)) {
    global.particle_surface = surface_create(display_get_width(),display_get_height());
}

if surface_exists(global.particle_surface){

part_system_automatic_draw(global.ps, false);

surface_set_target(global.particle_surface);

part_system_drawit(global.ps);

surface_reset_target();
   }