GameMaker [Solved] Need help with 3D Shadows using a single directional light

Anixias

Hi all. I'm trying to get real-time dynamic lighting in my prototype right now. The game is 3D in a perspective projection. It will have a view similar to that of an RTS or base-building game, so top-down ish at around 30 degrees down from straight forward (probably going to tweak that later).

Anyway, to get to the point, I found an old GM:S 1.4 project that has dynamic lighting using point lights. It can have an infinite number of them. I studied and studied it, and I understand how it all works. I've also been studying and watching videos relating to Shadow Mapping, so I understand the principle.

Here's where I'm at now. I have a directional light that renders the scene in an orthographic projection (where it renders from is currently fixed for testing, but later it will dynamically move so the whole view of the camera is captured by the light's projection). It renders the scene to a surface, ignoring any objects I flag as not being a shadowcaster. It uses a shader to store depth/distance to each fragment in the color values of the pixels, rather than texture information.

Now I'm stuck. I have a Depth Buffer/Z-Buffer/Shadow Map, whatever you want to call it. It stores the depth/distance to each fragment in the world via an orthographic view (because it's a directional light, so all light rays are parallel). I'm trying to work out how to adapt the old GM:S project's shader to fit a directional light, but I'm not exactly sure how.

I know, in principle, how it works. For each fragment, I multiply it's position by a few different matrices that describe the view from the light's perspective, and use that new position to sample the shadow map the light creates. From this, I compare the fragment's distance from the light to the distance recorded in the shadow map. If it's further away than the distance recorded in the shadow map, this fragment is in shadow.