• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML [SOLVED] Any way to execute a script when you come upon a certain ds_list item?

ds_list_add(dialogueList, "My name is Bob.")
ds_list_add(dialogueList, "I am a builder.", scr_camera_zoom(960, 540));

Is there any way to do this? I am trying to execute a script with 2 arguments once you get to the 2nd added list item where it says "I am a builder." But, what this does is execute scr_camera_zoom right away because it gets read in already.

I am making a visual novel styled game and I am just trying to change things when you come upon certain ds_list items.

I am trying to find an easy way to do this without making code messy. I spent all day trying to get something like this to work, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas?

I know you could do an if statement and check what ds_list item you are on and do action with a script, but that just doesn't seem like a great way to go.

I am currently using a system where you check for a string inside a ds_list item and then remove it, which will then execute a script but the thing is, it is difficult/messy to pass arguments with this method.

P

ParodyKnaveBob

Howdy, FlameRooster,

Have you considered using a DS Grid instead? Or, if it's all too sporadic on how many arguments to pass into how many scripts, etc., then perhaps each list entry that has something extra could also get a DS Map entry (yep, create a new map,) with a script to execute; that script would then call whatever other functions, scripts, etc. with whatever arguments you need.

I hope these ideas help somehow! $:^ J

Howdy, FlameRooster,